When the client is fused with an identity that is getting in the way

Deborah Helsing
    January 6, 2016 at 2:39 pm #2531

As a coach, I usually try and maintain an open curiosity about clients’ Big Assumptions… the same type of open, curiosity I hope they’ll have.
    • I assume that if I am not always suspicious and “on guard,” others will take advantage of me and I will look weak.
    Together, we consider the conditions under which the client might actually collect data suggesting others will not take advantage of her. Is there any single one teammate she might trust just a little not to take advantage of her? Is there any possibility of building additional trust on the team that changes the team culture?
    Usually, I strongly suspect we’ll find AT LEAST SOME DATA that disconfirms a Big Assumption. And I let the client know that’s what we’re going to look for together. We’re both curious and eager to look.
    But I don’t always take that open, curious stance. Sometimes my client has a Big Assumption of this variety:
    • I assume I’m not smart enough…
    • I assume I’m not talented enough…
    • I assume I don’t deserve…
    • I assume I am not worthy…
    And sometimes the client is pretty strongly convinced this assumption is true. When I ask what data, if it exists, would disconfirm such a Big Assumption, the client cannot come up with anything. The client can’t believe the Big Assumption might not be true. Or, the only way he or she could believe the assumption isn’t true is in the face of data like this:
    • “…If I already knew how to do this”
    • “…If it was easy for me to do this”
    • “…If someone were unconditionally in love with me”
    None of these answers leads to useful tests.